RPS Music Awards Winners Announced

The RPS Music Awards,  marking outstanding musical achievement in 2015 were presented at a ceremony at The Brewery in the City of London. The evening was hosted by BBC Radio 3’s Sara Mohr-Pietsch and Suzy Klein, with ‘silver lyre’ trophies presented to the winners by Canadian baritone Gerald Finley.

"For classical, it's the Oscars, the BAFTAs and the Grammys all in one: the #RPSMUSICAWARDS" - BBC Radio 3

View the full list of winners

Graham Vick CBE - who gave the keynote speech at the event - was awarded Honorary Membership of the Royal Philharmonic Society, becoming the 139th recipient since the first Honorary Membership was made to Carl Maria von Weber in 1826.

Pictures from the evening by Simon Jay Price - to download please enter the password rpsmusic2016

Download the press release

Speaking at the awards ceremony, RPS Chairman John Gilhooly saluted the shortlists and spoke of the importance of celebrating classical music and widening its reach: 

At the heart of all great music is the idea of looking outwards, of trying to make sense of the world around us, and articulating our thoughts and lives.  And in the 21st century, this should be all lives! Tonight the RPS wants to salute the amazing array of talent on offer in the UK – distinguished musicians, distinctive international musical voices, composers, conductors, instrumentalists and people of all ages, and from all walks of life who participate in music-making. And we want to say - in fact shout so loudly that it can’t be ignored:  this is for everyone. Music is about joy, and profundity, and understanding – and it’s for you!