2015: Large-Scale Composition

Announced 10 May 2016
Donated by The Boltini Trust

Luca Francesconi: Duende, The Dark Notes: violin concerto

"The winning work draws on the world of flamenco, and is a febrile proliferation of gripping ideas driven with unceasing energy by the solo violin protagonist. The composer has created a white-knuckle ride of dramatic intent, which never loses its focus even through captivating moments of calm within the turmoil. The Award goes to Luca Francesconi’s Duende: The Dark Notes."

Other Shortlisted Nominations in this Category

Christian Mason: Open to Infinity: A Grain of Sand
Gavin Higgins: Dark Arteries
Rebecca Saunders: Alba: for solo trumpet & orchestra

Large-Scale Composition Jury

Cathy Graham (chair)
Ann McKay
Hannah Bujic
Richard Uttley
Stephen Newbould