2015: Conductor

Announced 10 May 2016
Sponsored by BBC Music Magazine

Sakari Oramo

"Passion and searching intelligence distinguished this conductor in a vast range of music across the year, from a thrilling Belshazzar’s Feast at the Proms to his peerless Nielsen symphony cycle and shattering Elgar 2nd symphony with the BBC SO at the Barbican, where he also brought to life some significant BBC commissions. Sakari Oramo is a conductor who continues to grow and grow."

Other Shortlisted Nominations in this Category

Mark Wigglesworth
Vasily Petrenko

Conductor Jury

Kathryn McDowell (chair)
Edwina Wolstencroft
Helen Wallace
Ivan Hewett
Thorben Dittes